Alternative namesWalsh's Terrace Date BuiltBetween 1st January 1888 and 31st December 1888BuilderJohn WalshDescription
Iconic row of nine Italianate homes now known as “Avonmore Terrace”. Half a hectare of land was sold to a local builder, John Walsh, who built the first of the nine Terraces in 1888, the largest and grandest in the middle called “Avonmore”, now number 34, as his own family home. Walsh had made his fortune building railway lines throughout Queensland. He had eight daughters, as such the story goes that he built four more houses either side of his own home to house each of the daughters. The development was originally known as Walsh’s Terrace and the street name was John’s Avenue. Walsh passed away in 1893, leaving Walsh’s Terrace to his wife, Margaret, who moved into number two, “Etruria” and rented the other eight. In 1895, John’s Avenue was renamed to The Avenue as it is now currently known.