Built in the 1890s from ceramic , The Griffins were installed situated on sandstone plinths near the statue of Sir Henry Parkes, guarding the main entry at the Paddington Gates. By 1946, the Griffins had deteriorated, missing their wings, feet and other details, and in 1971 they were removed for safekeeping to the parklands depot. In the early 2000s, the parkland's trust funded the restoration of the Griffins, and they were reinstated in April 2005. Although called Griffins, the statues of winged lions are not true Griffins as they are missing the features of an eagle. These hybrids are known as 'Gryphonic' statues.